Boomerang Soomerang Toomerang!

April 10, 2007 at 10:26 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

imus2.jpgimus.jpg

 Not to make light of recent events or anything, but everytime I look at Don Imus I am reminded of Lady Elaine Fairchild from Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood. 

The recent events I speak of are of course Imus’ use of the phrase “nappy-headed hos” to describe members of the Rutgers women’s basketball team.  A producer, on air, also compared watching the Rutgers/Tennessee game to watching “Jiggaboos vs. Wannabees,” an apparent reference to Spike Lee’s film  School Daze .To me, the issue at hand is not whether or not Imus is a racist.  I personally don’t think that he is. I think that he’s just an incredibly insensitive man with no inner monologue who thought he was making a hilarious joke about his perception of the Rutgers women’s “roughness.” One reason I’m not going to assume he’s a racist, despite his obviously ignorant comments, is that the Tennessee Lady Vols are made up by a majority of black women.  I think that his use of the word “ho”, while offensive and rude and just plain stupid, was used in a context that was not meant to spew hate in the way that some feel it did. I don’t think Joe Biden is a racist, but he’s clearly said some stupid things that have offended blacks and East Indians.  I don’t think Jesse Jackson is an anti-Semite, but who can forget his nasty Hymietown remarks?  Okay, maybe Jesse Jackson is kind of an anti-Semite.  But STILL!  People say offensive, messed up, cruel things all the time for the sake of comedy.  Turn on the Comedy Channel or BET for a comedy special and I guarantee you’ll witness it.  People say nasty, sexist things in musical lyrics.  It doesn’t make it right, but it does make it wrong to single out one person and use him as a scapegoat. 

I am not a fan of Don Imus. I choose not to listen to his show because it does nothing for me, but this pisses me off for different reasons than it does many others.  It angers me because here was a moment for these Rutgers women that they were proud of, that was a huge accomplishment, and it was overshadowed by this pompus jerk’s thoughtless comments. I’m not sure if I buy “nappy-headed” as being the super offensive a racist insult as the media is portraying it to be.  Blondes are constantly joked on for their hair.  Where’s the public outcry?  All I’m saying is I don’t think this is as big of a deal as people are making it out to be.  If you don’t like him, do what I do. Don’t listen to him.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

