Spaghetti Westerns, Arcade Fire style

April 27, 2007 at 11:09 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The problem with my creativity is that it all lives in my head. I can conjure up fantastic ideas, but I lack any kind of artistic or technological skill to make them happen. Just last night, right before I fell asleep, I finished a painting that would look perfect in my living room. Actually, I finished a mind painting that will more than likely never come to life to hang in my living room because I have no idea how to paint. I’m sure that I could look online and find out what types of canvas and brushes and paints to use, and then I could go to an art supply store and spend money on everything I need, and then take them all home only to stare at the blank canvas with no idea how to make the image in my head take form. I also get brilliant ideas for stories and novels. Sometimes I jot down lines of dialogue or map out the entire thing in a notebook, write up character descriptions and names. At then when I sit down at my computer to begin writing something very peculiar happens. Nothing. I have had writer’s block for 25 years.

For some reason there is a great deal of dissonance between what I want to produce creatively and what I actually have the ability to do. It’s not that I lack the drive, it’s that I lack the talent. This is why I could never be an inventor. I would have to hire so many people to do my sketches and mock-ups and models for me that by the time it was all said and done it probably wouldn’t even legally qualify as my invention anymore. Oh well.

Luckily, we live in an age where we have access to all sorts of creativity through this magical invention called the internet. As far as I am concerned, the internet is just a really quick way to develop a major inferiority complex. While I was checking out some Arcade Fire videos on YouTube, I came across this fantastic clip of the Arcade Fire’s “My Body is a Cage,” set to a montage from Sergio Leone’s Once Upon a Time in the West .

Arcade Fire songs really are lush, they fit perfectly with cinematography rich films. In fact, I can imagine a lot of their songs set to Terrence Malick films, something like Badlands maybe. of course, someone else will have to make that video. I sure can’t!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

