It’s my wedding, and I’ll obsess if I want to…

May 15, 2007 at 2:12 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Yesterday was a gorgeous day. It was perfect – sunny, slightly breezy, and warm without being hot. When I woke up, the first thing that popped into my head was “I hope we have this exact weather for our wedding.” And then I panicked.

I’m not panicking about being married, I am panicking about getting married. Two very different things. I have a fabulous fiance who I cannot wait to call my husband, and I have been dreaming about this day for a very long time, but I’m starting to worry that I’m not far enough along in the planning process. We have about eleven months to go, and so far all I’ve done is book the church and the reception hall. Those are two really big, really essential things, but there is still so much more planning to do that it’s making my head spin. Florist, DJ, limo, menu, save the dates, invites, DRESS, bridemaid’s dresses, tuxes, hair and makeup, favors, centerpieces, cake….klhlfkjbiewulfsjhbdlfakjbsdlkbfalsdkfjba!

It is in my nature to over analyze, over plan, and over exert my worry muscle. I just wouldn’t be myself if I wasn’t stressing about something, and until April 26, 2008 the something I am going to stress about are my nuptials. That’s just the way it is. So, for my sanity, here is a rundown of things so far:

The Ceremony:

We chose a church wedding after a lot of mental deliberation. One of the things I considered at length was to do an outdoor garden type wedding with on-site reception. The biggest fear I kept running into was the weather. The month of April around here can be somewhat unpredictable. It could be pouring. It could be chilly, especially during the evening hours that I want to hold the reception in. The sites I looked at for outdoor weddings were not only pricey, but space was limited, especially for the ceremony itself. With our guestlist spiraling out of control, I couldn’t risk not having enough space for everyone in the event of inclement weather. Another problem was location. I knew I wanted to get married locally, and even though pretty much everywhere in Delaware can be consider local, we have a number of out of towners attending. I want the whole package: ceremony, reception, overnight accommodations in an area I’m familiar with. Basically, I want it all to take place downtown in Newark where I grew up, went to college, and now live and work with my fiance.

So, a church wedding it is. I’m actually looking forward to meeting for our pre-marital “counseling” and going over the details of the ceremony, but as of yet not oo much is concrete except for the date and time. I would like to have a string trio or quartet playing during the ceremony, but I need to check with the Rector to see what the limitations, if any, there are on that. We’d also like to write our own vows, which I know will take me quite some time to practice so that I don’t break down and sob uncontrollably talking about J.

The Reception:

I think the thing that is making the reception so hard to plan is not that I don’t know what I want, but that I don’t know how to describe it. Being a Spring wedding, I want to play up on all the whimsies of the season. But I don’t want to have another boring old spring themes spring wedding. I want a reception that feels like Spring. In turn of the century Paris. Except more like Paris if Paris was the setting of Alice in Wonderland. SEE WHY THIS IS SO DIFFICULT?

I know what colors I want – sage green, white, very very pale pink. I know what flowers I want – hydrangeas in white and pale pink, and lots of them. I know that I want to incorporate birds into it, but not Audubon society portraits of Cardinals on snowy tree branches. I want birds like this:
victorian bird

I want antique teacups as candle holders, and I want cherry blossom trees to hold place settings when the guests come in. I want little bird houses as guest favors and I want cupcakes instead of a wedding cake. Not Tastycakes or anything, but really beautiful, quirky decorated cupcakes. Like this:
justcakes.net

I want a DJ, but I don’t want the DJ to play crap that we would never listen to. This means we will really have to sit down together and come up with a list of do’s and don’ts. THERE WILL BE NO CHICKEN DANCE AT MY WEDDING! THERE WILL BE NO KOOL AND THE GANG! THERE WILL BE NO SHANIA TWAIN, NO NELLY, AND NO ONE WHO HAS EVER BEEN ON AMERICAN IDOL! This is going to be a difficult one.

Okay, that’s all I have the energy for right now. I’ve given myself a headache.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Will “WHO LET THE DOGS OUT” be playing?

    I love the cupcake idea. I saw it in a wedding magazine. (yeah, I’ve registered on theknot, have flipped through the books and I’m going to my second wedding show this week) I’m not even engaged! But I’m sort of married. oy vey! I’m looking forward to seeing the dresses you pick out, its all so exciting!

  2. WAIT? NO KELLY CLARKSON?!

  3. Wait, no Kool and the Gang?

    There MUST be Kool and the Gang!

    I’m sure you mean “Celebration.” And it’s fine if “Celebration” isn’t played.

    But what of “Jungle Boogie?”

    I think that’s a necessity. Especially if we wear those gangster suits instead of tuxedos.

    In fact, DJ problem solved. If we wear the suits, we should just play the Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction soundtracks back-to-back. I guess people can try to slow dance to “Hooked on a Feeling” and “Son of a Preacher Man.”


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

