Teacup candle dilemma SOLVED. 20 more dilemmas to go.

May 15, 2007 at 10:59 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

So, my fiance is a genius. After finishing up my post last night I was even more overwhelmed with wedding hoopla. I had been researching these really adorable Victorian teacup candles that I saw on-line that were super pricey – the cheapest I saw was $20 without S & H. $20 x 175 guests = a lot more money that we have budgeted for favors. So, in an attempt to be resourceful, I looked on-line at ways to make a cheaper replica of the teacup candles and saw that it was slightly time consuming, involved a double broiler, and would probably end up being an additional frustration in my life which I really don’t need right now. To top it all off, writing about the reception had only exponentially added to my confusion as to exactly what I was trying to go for in a theme.

What’s a girl to do? I am a big fan of the dramatic entrance, so I moped into the bedroom where my fiance was sitting, threw myself down on the bed, and cried several giant crocodile tears while relaying my thoughts about our big day. When I was trying to explain my whole Tea Party meets Paris meets Alice in Wonderland theme using my hands as circular Venn diagrams and realizing it made no sense, I thought about throwing in the towel, getting in the car, and eloping. Instead, J sat down next to me and suggested maybe I was trying to over complicate things by coming up with THE MOST ORIGINAL WEDDING EVER in a hybrid of themes. Our wedding is going to be awesome, it’s going to be the best day of our lives and it really doesn’t need to have centerpieces worthy of submission into the MOMA to be so.

I really like the idea of the reception feeling like a garden tea party; with tons of white flowers and floating candles and birds. That is my newly obtained focus. When I told J about the teacup candles and their expense he agreed that they are way out of range. As in, range is right about here and the teacups are somewhere in the South China Sea. Not going to happen. However, we could easily find some teacups and saucers, and fill them with gourmet teas and maybe even a cute demitasse spoon or something. Then we tie a little ribbon on the cup handle on the wedding’s main color with our names and the date of the wedding. Simple. Practical. Genius.

I jumped out of bed, and with my last functioning brain cell I managed to find IKEA’s website and these bad boys. Factoring in the cost of the teas and ribbons, which will obviously be purchased in bulk, these favors will still be affordable. The only downside is that they can’t be shipped, so we’ll be contacting someone at IKEA to see if we can place an order, as it seems unlikely they’ll carry 175 or so in stock. As long as we can be guaranteed all the cups and saucers we need, I will gladly hike up to IKEA. I need some Svgruerwnknfdsi anyway. Just kidding, that’s not an actual item. As far as I know.

Anyway, in summary: I am much calmer this evening and really excited about a bunch of dresses I want to look at. Now, if I can just get cracking on that wedding diet….

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

