“Why do things that happen to stupid people keep happening to me?”

July 16, 2007 at 11:52 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

My fiance fell out of a tree on Saturday night and impaled his leg on a fence.  That may be an awkward way to start off a blog, but I’ve spent the last few days in the hospital with him and I am cranky, hungry, tired, and generally uninspired to say much more about it.  He’ll be okay. He’s resting at home now, happily full of painkillers and hospital issued beef tips and gravy over egg noodles, but his leg is pretty disgusting and painful and his wound looks oddly similar to a big, bloody belly button. I am now playing nurse to his patient – which I am almost positive was a fantasy of his at one point, although without the real injuries –  and I preparing myself for the Yahtzee marathon that will surely commence within in the hour.  Falling out of a tree is a pretty stupid thing to happen to one’s self, and if the injury had been a few millimeters to the right he would have severely injured his femoral artery; instead he only bruised the surrounding area. Let’s not argue social Darwinism here, I love this man! Instead, let this be a lesson to us all – never mix tree climbing with whiskey.

  However, if you have any pity for him (or me!) click on the picture of the band below, listen to his comedy act’s clip (Stucco Lobster Breadbox) and  cast your vote for them to win the Best Local Music of Delaware challenge! If you like them. Because I’m sure you will. WHAT IS NOT TO LIKE ABOUT AN X-RATED MUSICAL COMEDY ACT FEATURING A THIRTY YEAR OLD MAN PLAYING CHILDREN’S TOY INSTRUMENTS WHO, ON OCCASSION, WILL FALL FROM A TREE AN IMPALE HIS LEG ON A FENCE????

Told you I was cranky, but we do appreciate your vote!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ouch! I hope he heals fast! I can only imagine the pain!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

