Wedding Update Mania

September 11, 2007 at 2:57 am | Posted in beauty, family, friends, i win at life, music, wedding | 3 Comments

Guest List, Etc.

Our Save the Date magnets have arrived, and I am terribly excited. They look like the image posted above, but obviously they have our names and wedding date on them instead of Amy and Mark’s. Whoever they are. Since we are about a month and a half away from mailing these bad babies out, we’re now trying to finalize our list with the hopes that we can start the envelope calligraphy relatively soon. The problem is that our invite list has taken on a life of its own and grown to disproportionate sizes waaaaayyyy above what we originally were shooting for. Even allowing for the possibility that some of our out of town guests won’t be able to attend, we’re still a good 20 people over our target.

How did this happen? I’d like to say that I have absolutely no idea, but that wouldn’t be entirely true. See, I have a fairly gargantuan Irish family, especially on my Dad’s side. My list really doesn’t even scratch the surface of my family in the sense that I’m inviting all my aunts, uncles, first cousins and their spouses, but just a couple of great aunts and uncles and second cousins that I’m particularly close to. If I had gone the whole kit and caboodle with all twelve of my Dad’s aunts and uncles and all of their kids I could easily have used up the entirety of my guest allotment just with family members. It’s hard to pick and choose, even under budget constraints.

Dress

I am almost 100% positive I’ve picked out the style of my dress! Actually, I’ve picked out two dressed that I wish I could morph into one, perfect creation. I am hiding these pictures under links so that The Old Boy has the option not to look at it, if he so wishes. Personally, I don’t think it’s a big issue for him to see the dress I’ll be wearing. I plan on staying at my parents’ house the night before the wedding, so it’s not as if he’ll see me in the dress, but I don’t want to ruin and surprises if he wants to be surprised.

The first dress is Alvina Valenta, and it’s pretty indicative of the style I want – although I would be wearing white like all fake-virgin brides do. I love the re-embroidered lace top, and I kind of like how this dress has a more gathered waist that will help hide what the girdle misses. I’m definitely feeling the V-neck, and A-lines seem to be most flattering to me. This Jim Hjelm dress is my absolute favorite. I love the neckline because I’m not afraid to show a little boob on my wedding day. The only thing I worry about with this dress is that it seems like it’s in the “mermaid” style where it’s tighter around the leg area. Although it looks fantastic on their size 2 model, I don’t know how flattering it would be once I squeeze my junk into it. Hopefully I can find something similar to both that I love.

The Music

Now that we’ve booked our photographer, the DJ is the next step. We have an appointment with a potential DJ this Thursday, and I’m excited for it. We’re both really picky when it comes to music, so I’m going to have a list of songs I absolutely want played during the reception. It’s going to be music that people can dance to, because that’s the whole point of the dance floor, but it’s going to be music that The Old Boy and I actually listen to. We’ve also started to think about music that we want played during the ceremony and for our special dances like mother/son, father/daughter, he and I for the first time. Here is a partial list:

Ceremony (Strings and flute!)

Pre-Ceremony : 1st Movement- Dvorak
Pre-Ceremony: Arioso- Bach
  Divertomento in F Major – Mozart
Processional: Intermezzo from Carmen – Bizet
Recessional: All You Need Is Love – The Beatles

Cocktail Hour
Lots of Nina Simone, Louis Prima, Keely Smith, Edith Piaf

Reception
Walking In/ Announcing Wedding Party: Happy Together- The Turtles
Our First Dance: God Only Knows- The Beach Boys
My Dad and I: You Are So Beautiful – Joe Cocker

The rest of the song list will be riiiiidiculously long, and my fingers are cramping, so I’ll save that for another day. I’m terribly excited though, so you’ll have to forgive the impending deluge of wedding type posts that are sure to be coming in the next few months!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It sounds as if things are really starting to come together for you. That is great to hear. I wish you all the best.

  2. Your dress choices are beautiful. I can see why you’d have a hard time picking one over the other. Ahhh, choosing songs and the seating arrangements were the hardest for us. Well, the seating was actually not that hard to do but it was harder to get the Inn where we got married to remember how to layout the tables the way we wanted. LOL. Thankfully, my hubby got there before I learned about it and he straightened it all out. Poor guy in his tux, rearranging tables and stuff. Ahh, that’s why I married him! 😉

  3. I love the dresses!! I’m sure that you’ll look gorgeous in either of them! Looks like everything’s coming together. I’m so happy for you!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

