About that time I hated summer…

September 27, 2007 at 3:21 am | Posted in annoyances, autumn, weather | 1 Comment

Here in the Mid-Atlantic region/lower Northeast/ extremely upper Southeast/ whatever this region is *actually* called, we’re experiencing a really warm start to autumn. Granted, it just officially became autumn this past weekend, but it was hovering around 90 degrees outside and that’s just ridiculous. I heard someone on the radio using the term “Indian Summer,” but that’s not really accurate. An Indian Summer is a period closer to winter where cyclical changes in weather patterns result in an uncharacteristically warm period of weather for a few days. I learned that when I took a class in college called Climate and Life to satisfy one of those nagging science credits still lingering during my senior year. What we’re experiencing is more like a prolonged summer, and it’s annoying.

Am I crazy to be complaining about nice weather? Well, I guess that all depends on your definition of nice. I am a cold weather type of girl. I love climbing into bed at night into a cold bed and snuggling under tons of blankets to get warm. I love drinking hot chocolate by the fire. I love knitting scarves to wear. I love snowstorms – as long as I don’t have to drive in one. 90 + degree weather is a nightmare for me. My forehead gets all sweaty, my hair gets all frizzy, and I find it impossible to cool down. At least if it gets to cold outside all I have to do is put on a hat and a thicker coat. Hot weather is for the birds.

That being said, I do enjoy some aspects of summer. I like going to the beach. I like sitting on my back porch and drinking iced tea or a cold beer as the sun goes down and a nice breeze starts to blow. I do not like scorching heat. As a fairly pasty woman whose Cherokee heritage is far over-weighed by her Irish blood, I do not like the sun because it makes me really pink and itchy.

I love autumn. I can’t think of a single thing I don’t like about the season. I love when the leaves turn. I love when the weather gets cool. I love wearing a sweater for the first time. I love apple orchards with their apple cider, hayrides, and cider donuts. I love caramel apples, pumpkins, and little kids dressed up like goblins. I want to watch marathons of ghost stories and the Halloween anthology on TBS. I want autumn. I want autumn now. I do not want 90 degrees, I want 55. Tops. It’s almost October, people. Am I being unreasonable?

Someone please tell autumn that I have a sweater, a cuddle, and a ton a ghost decorations waiting for it. If I don’t start smelling fireplaces in the air soon I may go crazy.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yeup – you are crazy! LOL. Just kidding – I guess we are each allowed to like different seasons. I love Spring the best. I’m not a big Winter fan.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

